Coming Up

Jan. 12—Celebration of Life Dinner fundraiser: Sandra Merritt will be the keynote speaker at our annual banquet and silent auction fundraiser. Merritt and fellow citizen journalist David Daleiden participated in an undercover video sting and exposed the sale of aborted baby body parts. Come hear Merritt tell the story of the remarkable undertaking that remains, and the historic legal battle it has become. The event will be held at the DC Centre, 11830 Stonegate Drive, Omaha, NE 68164. Tickets are $45, and may be purchased by clicking our “Donate” button at the bottom left of our home page, by mailing a check to NUFL, 143 S. 38th St., Omaha, NE 68131. Steak and shrimp will be served.
October 2017
M T W T F S S
« Sep    
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Donate

Now you can send your monetary contributions online

Nebraska’s abortion laws

Nebraska’s abortion restrictions, according to statelaws.findlaw.com, are listed below.

Not included in this list is the 2017 approval of a “Choose Life” license plate, available for purchase in January 2018; Telemedicine to dispense abortion medication is prohibited; And, abortions at or beyond 20 weeks gestation may legally take place only if the woman’s life is endangered, or if her physical health is severely compromised.

Statutory Definition of Illegal Abortion Act, procedure, device, or prescription administered to a woman to produce premature expulsion, removal, or termination of the human life within the womb of the pregnant woman unless the child’s viability is threatened by continuation of the pregnancy
Statutory Definition of Legal Abortion Before viability or if woman is victim of abuse or neglect or if the M.D. has certification in writing that the continued pregnancy is a threat to woman’s life, health
Penalty for Unlawful Abortion Class III misdemeanor: M.D. who performs abortion in violation of any standards
Consent Requirements Unemancipated woman under 18 yrs. old or incompetent requires at least 48 hr. written notice to a parent or guardian by delivery or certified mail; court may waive requirements if find woman is mature; parent may authorize abortion in writing
Waiting Period Voluntary and informed consent of woman 24 hours before abortion, except in emergency (woman must receive state-directed counseling on abortion and other options at least 24 hours prior to the procedure)
Physician Licensing Requirements Licensed M.D.
Insurance Coverage Health insurance policies under the ACA may cover abortion only when the woman’s life is endangered (optional rider may be purchased for general abortion coverage)
   

 

Share

Comments are closed.